Taking These To My Grave: My Top 13 Favorite Fall Out Boy Songs

Screen Shot 2016-04-04 at 1.58.01 PM

photo courtesy of Alternative Press

Taking These To My Grave: My Top 13 Favorite Fall Out Boy Songs

by Deanna Romani

It’s no secret that Fall Out Boy is my favorite band, but they weren’t always.

Creeping up on their debut album’s 13th anniversary, I looked back on who and where I was 13 years ago. When the band’s debut, Take This To Your Grave, released in the early summer of 2003, I was finishing up the second grade, pink was my favorite color, and I spent my weekends watching Disney Channel and Nickelodeon. It wasn’t until 2005 with their sophomore release, From Under The Cork Tree, when I took notice of the then-small pop-punk band. That record and this band ignited my love for the sound of an electric guitar, alternative music, and MTV. But even then, I didn’t realize exactly how much I would come to love them a little over a decade later.

In honor of Take This To Your Grave’s 13th birthday next month, here are my top 13 favorite Fall Out Boy songs, ranging from their catchy radio singles to the songs that give us a blast from the past.

13. “Uma Thurman” – American Beauty/American Psycho, 2015
American Beauty/American Psycho isn’t my all-time favorite record, but it’s one of FOB’s most successful ones and I do enjoy the songs from time to time. The radio single samples the theme song from “The Munsters,” which my parents always comment on, but it’s more than just a song you constantly hear on the radio. The first time I heard it live, Pete noted that it was a nod to all of their female fans and we can do anything we set our minds to. So, thanks Pete, for reminding me that I can move some mountains and work a couple of miracles.

12. “America’s Suitehearts” – Folie à Deux, 2008
Not only do I think this song is underrated; this entire record is. A lot of my favorite songs hail from this album, but the fact that these lyrics were written in 2008 and they’re still relevant today says a lot about Hollywood.  I love glitz and glam as much as anyone else, but this is definitely one of the more important songs on this list. Also, it’s one of my favorite music videos they’ve ever done, so that’s a plus.

11. “Sophomore Slump Or Comeback Of The Year” – From Under The Cork Tree, 2005
When I think of pop-punk, I immediately think of this album.  With guest vocals from William Beckett of The Academy Is…, it’s a song that’s constantly quoted on those scanned-in paint swatches you see all over Tumblr, which is why I love it so much.

10. “Grand Theft Autumn / Where Is Your Boy?” – Take This To Your Grave, 2003
Nothing is more iconic than the guitar and the fact that it’s dubbed the “national anthem” at their shows. If you don’t know the lyrics to this, you’re doing the entirety of the genre wrong.  It’s just that important.

9. “Miss Missing You” – Save Rock And Roll, 2013
Lyrically, this is one of my favorites. The funny thing is, when it first came out, I hated it because I thought it was “too 80s.” My freshman year of college, my roommate & I listened to Save Rock And Roll nonstop and this was always a song we would skip. Eventually, it grew on me, and I slowly became attached to it. They played this live the very first time I saw them live, and it’s forever one of the best moments I’ve witnessed at one of their live shows. It also may or may not be on every single break-up playlist I’ve ever made.

8. “The Kids Aren’t Alright” – American Beauty/American Psycho, 2015
Like I said earlier, AB/AP was not FOB’s strongest record, but this song is definitely the stand-out one. They constantly say they’re not a political band, but when you really pick apart the lyrics to this song, there’s no way it’s not about what you think it is. They’ve always been pretty vocal about their political beliefs, which is something I’ve always admired about them as a whole. This track is no exception to that fact.

7. “27” – Folie à Deux, 2008
Straight up, this is the best song Pete Wentz has ever written. An anthem about refusing to be a part of the infamous “27 Club” in the music world; it has some of my favorite lyrics, including “I’ve got a lot of friends who are stars but some are just black holes.”  Not to mention that Patrick’s guitar solo at the end is one of my absolute favorite guitar solos he’s composed among all six of their records.

6. What A Catch, Donnie” – Folie à Deux, 2008
Are you sensing a trend that Folie is my favorite album? It’s no shocker this made the countdown, it’s the only song I refuse to hear live because I know I’ll cry the second they start playing it.  Pete wrote it about Patrick, which makes it all the more emotional (to me, anyway). Not to mention the insane guest features (Brendon Urie, Travie McCoy, William Beckett, and even Elvis Costello!) that give me chills every time I listen to it.

5. Chicago Is So Two Years Ago” – Take This To Your Grave, 2003
You can’t have a pop-punk record without a song about your hometown on it.  Chicago indirectly defined the pop-punk scene and I personally think it shaped it to what it is today. It’s every kid from the Midwest’s anthem.  My friends from Chicago quote it constantly, and I love that it’s left a mark like that in this scene and that city.

4. Disloyal Order Of Water Buffaloes” – Folie à Deux, 2008
Next to “Thriller” opening Infinity On High, this is the best opening track to any record I’ve listened to.  It’s everything I’ve ever wanted in a song and it literally tells the story of the band within the boasting choruses and numerous verses. I have nothing much to say about it aside from that it’s the perfect anthem for today’s youth.

3. Hum Hallelujah” – Infinity On High, 2007
This is one of those songs I always forget is my favorite.  They put it on their set list for their most recent tour, and I was absolutely ecstatic, because it was one of those songs I thought they retired for good. One of my favorite lyrics ever is “I love you in the same way there’s a chapel in a hospital” because it’s one of those lyrics that just makes you think… you know? And I’ll never know the real meaning behind that one, but that’s the greatest part about it.

2. Saturday” – Take This To Your Grave, 2003
It’s kind of everyone’s unspoken favorite song. They end every show they play with it. They still act like they’re 18 when they perform this song onstage. I feel like I’m in a tiny dive bar surrounded by strangers and the stage is an inch off of the ground whenever I see them perform it or just listen to it when I’m at the gym. It’s just that timeless, and I love them for that.

1. “Save Rock And Roll” – Save Rock And Roll, 2013
It’s kind of funny that this made the number one slot, because I typically don’t like album title tracks and hate when albums end on a slow note. However, this song really hit home for me the first time I listened to the band’s comeback album. The way this song made me feel the first time I listened to it was a feeling I never had before, and the fact that they sampled “Chicago Is So Two Years Ago” in this song is still such a cool thing to me. Between Elton John’s guest vocals and the line “You are what you love / Not who loves you,” this song is one I’ll definitely take with me to my grave.

And it’s not a complete list without a couple of honorable mentions, so here’s five songs that almost made the list, but didn’t in the end:

Listen to the top 13 songs on Spotify below:

 

